ERA-MIN projects decided

The funding agencies granted together a total of €3.9 million to this pilot call which closed on June 27th, 2013. The scope was “Sustainable and responsible supply of (non-energy) primary resources”, gathering the following five topic areas:

  • Exploration
  • Extraction
  • Mine closure and rehabilitation
  • Minerals processing
  • Metallurgy

18 applications were submitted, on all the sub-topic areas. Among them, 14 passed the eligibility check.

Project name

Sub topic


MAXI – Mineral Analysis using X-ray Imaging


Mineral processing

Teknologian tutkimuskeskus VTT (Finland)-coordinartor

Orexplore AB (Sweden)                                                                               

Advacam Oy (Finland)                                                                                   

Geological Institute of Romania (Romania)

GEOSULF - Utilization of sulphide mine tailings in geopolymer materials

Mine closure and rehabilitation, Minerals processing

University of Oulu (Finland)-coordinator

University of Aveiro (Portugal)          

AGH University of Science and Technology (Poland)


CELMIN - UTILISATION OF GREEN CHEMICALS IN NON-ENERGY EXTRACTIVE INDUSTRIES: Preparation of modified nanofibrillar celluloses (NFC) for flotation, flocculation and dewatering, and water purification in mining industry                         

Extraction, Mine closure and rehabilitation, Minerals processing

University of Oulu (Finland)-coordinator

IST LISBON (Portugal)                                                                                    

NUCBM (Romania)                                                                                             

Sibelco Lda (Portugal)                                                                                         

Sojitz Beralt Tin & Wolfram S.A (Portugal)

SUSMIN - Tools for sustainable gold mining in EU


Mineral processing

Geological Survey of Finland (Finland) - Coordinator

Luleå University of Technology (Sweden)     

Geological Institute of Romania (Romania)             

Wroclaw University of Technology (Poland)

Babes-Bolyai University (Romania)

Trinity College Dublin (Ireland, own funding)

University of Porto (Portugal)